the shit hits the fan

17 Jul

Well, I had an interesting week.

The belts on The Clown Car have been squealing since Bill changed them. He said that it wasn’t a big deal, they were just loose, and he would fix them the next time I came home. Friday I was about a third of the way to work when the squealing stopped, which is what usually happens because the belts usually stop slipping after you drive a while. But then I noticed the battery light went on and then the engine temperature started to creep up into the red. “Shit,” I thought. Since I didn’t know what to do, I just drove the rest of the way to work. When I got there I opened the hood and found that the belt that goes to the alternator and the engine fan was completely gone.

I went inside and asked my co-worker if she knew a good mechanic. I had to have the effing thing towed. Now Bill feels bad and he wants me to drive up and swap cars with mom so he can do a complete work-over on it. So I may be back in PA next month.

That same day baby birds started popping out everywhere. In the last three days we’ve had eight babies fledge from four different species. We have four new eggs. And yesterday one of the other keepers found a dead baby in one of the food dishes in the aviary and we can’t figure out what species it is. It could be a hybrid.

Golden-headed Manakin (Pipra erythrocephala) – This little guy is fully grown and he’s only about 2.5 inches long. Before I took the picture he was eating those flowers.

Baby African Pigmy Goose (Nettapus auritus)!

I have my physical for work tomorrow. I have to give a stool sample. A STOOL SAMPLE. Let me tell you, it is a much trickier (and more disgusting) business than just peeing in a cup. Pray that you never have to do this.

And finally, I learned this week that scientists fear that the West African black rhino may be extinct. And only four know individuals remain of the Northern white rhino. If you find this as distressing as I do, I urge you to get involved in conservation. It doesn’t take much effort. One of the best things you can do is spread the word.

One of my favorite websites is the Conservation Action Network from the World Wildlife Fund. Here, you can read about their various campaigns and send emails to your congressmen urging them to vote for initiatives that will help save wildlife. They have form letters, so you can send one in a few seconds or edit it yourself for a more personal message. I’ve sent several emails and have actually gotten a few responses.

Also, if you want to donate financially or want more information, there are several non-profits out there, such as Defenders of Wildlife, The Nature Conservancy, National Wildlife Federation, WildAid, and WWF.

And visit The Alliance to Save Energy for some easy and cheap ways to save energy and money in your home or apartment.

One Response to “the shit hits the fan”

  1. The one and only... July 17, 2006 at 15:50 #

    You and your car problems…I tell you what. I have to say it…”NO I can’t bring you a new belt for your car like I did gas. I’m just too far now.” HAHA

Leave a Reply

