it’s hard enough even trying to be civil to myself

4 Aug

Tuesday I drove up to Greensboro, aka “The Big City.” I wanted to see the art museum at UNCG. I managed to get lost about five times. There are one-way streets everywhere and the drivers are homicidal. Luckily, I came across the visitors’ center, so I got a map and directions from a very friendly old lady. Have you ever noticed that there are always old ladies manning visitors’ centers? Once I finally got there the museum was small but very nice.

After that I parked downtown. Lo, I found that a single quarter gets you a whole hour in the parking meter. Then I walked around the older part of town and found some great antiques stores and junk shops. Finally I went to Natty Greene’s for a pint and some chicken fingers. I then proceeded to get equally lost on the way home.

Nicole figured out the bills for the month. My rent and all the utilities for July came to $177. I couldn’t freaking believe it. So, I’m staying here for as long as she lets me, because the cheapskate in me can’t pass that up. That way I can save for school.

Now I need to go watch my new Star Trek: TNG Season 5 DVDs. That’s right, you heard me. I ain’t ashamed of it.

4 Responses to “it’s hard enough even trying to be civil to myself”

  1. Robert August 5, 2006 at 12:17 #

    So those DVDs cost how much more than your rent for the month? Just curious.

  2. Rob August 6, 2006 at 10:07 #

    Great to see you blogging!Checkout other Randolph County bloggers:Randolph Is Talking

  3. blackbird August 6, 2006 at 19:40 #

    Robert, of course I bought them used for $30.

  4. Rob August 15, 2006 at 10:30 #

    Is there some sort of “robert-only” rule around here? good job with the cheap rent. I think NC has a lot going for it, but really one of the best things is the livin’ is easy.

Leave a Reply

