alba gu bragh

15 Aug

Have you ever seen something so beautiful that you felt like all the days of your life before that moment were just a dream, but now you were finally awake? And if you stood there too long, stirred by the rawness of it all, you might die with the yearning to remain there forever?

Sounds like love, doesn’t it?

It is, in a way. I have been in love since the age of sixteen. In love with a place. And ever since, I have wanted to get back there. I feel like I am meant to be there. I feel at home there. I have never in my life wanted something so much, nor have I wanted something for so long.

Those of you that know me personally will know about the many schemes I have thought up over the past few years. Most of them haven’t come to fruition. But every plan has been a route towards a single goal – to live in Scotland.

So I have formulated The Plan. This is it. The big one.

Step one of The Plan is to find a second job.

I started looking a bit online today and there are some positions at the mall. I’m going to go after work tomorrow and get some applications. I figure I can work twenty hours a week at a second job and remain relatively sane. It’s not as if I have anything better to do. When I first started at the zoo, I thought I’d be too tired after a day of running around to work more. But, now I’ve gotten used to it, the fatigue isn’t so bad anymore. I just refuse to work in food service.

Step two – save as much money as possible for a period of three years.
Step three – get accepted to graduate school in Scotland and get Master’s.
Step four – get two-year visa for people who have gotten a degree in Scotland.
Step five – within those two years find a good biology job that wants to keep me.

I know that it might sound crazy, and any number of things could stop The Plan in it’s tracks. But life’s too short not to go after the things you want. Even if I fall short, at least I’ll know that I gave it a shot.

2 Responses to “alba gu bragh”

  1. Sarah August 18, 2006 at 19:07 #

    You do can do it, champ. You can do it.

  2. Anonymous June 30, 2007 at 17:19 #

    a more beautiful place you could not have chosen, it is Heaven on earth in the highlands.of Clan Campbell

Leave a Reply

