crikey

4 Sep

Steve Irwin (The Crocodile Hunter) was killed today by a stingray in a freak accident.

I heard the news on NPR during my drive to work. My jaw dropped. I became considerably distressed. It’s not as if I knew the guy personally, not even close. But I found his untimely demise pretty upsetting.

He was a role model for me in a way. His show Crocodile Hunter Diaries, which films the daily lives of the keepers at Australia Zoo, was one of the many things that influenced me to become a zookeeper. He and his wife have done so much for conservation and environmental education. He brought environmental awareness to a wide audience and, let’s face it, he was fun to watch. I found it incredible that he had so much enthusiasm for protecting wildlife. I can only hope to be like him someday, except without the short shorts.

This quote, stolen from Shauna who stole it from Ed, sums it up pretty well:

The world, in its own strange way, needed a guy like Steve Irwin, however vigorously self-promoted, if only to remind the human race that, no matter how picayune or crazed your interests, it’s worth getting excited about. It’s worth it to sometimes leap into the deep end. It’s worth it because nobody else out there will.

It’s not as if they’ll ever see this, but my heartfelt condolences go out to the Irwin family all the same.

So long, Steve. Hope you have a good time in that big zoo in the sky.

2 Responses to “crikey”

  1. Sarah September 5, 2006 at 22:28 #

    I’m so sad. So very sad. And angry. (I can’t get over the stingray thing.) He was a great man. Steve offered a show I could watch with my mom, dad and autistic cousins and we’d all be happy.

  2. Kristen September 23, 2006 at 11:08 #

    I thought of you when I heard about Steve Irwin. For all my ragging on him he really was an amazing environmentalist. He taught us that every animal has a place in this world– even the scary lookin ones. And those idiots running out and killing stingrays in retaliation have missed his message completely.

Leave a Reply

