and thereby hangs a tale

25 Sep

I had a loverly day yesterday.

Nikki and I went to see The Taming of the Shrew put on at the NC Shakespeare Festival. It was hilarious, and it made me all kinds of reminiscent about my theatre days. I’ve become more and more nostalgic in my old age. Last time I was home visiting The Parental Units I looked through my old photos and found that, overwhelmingly, I have more photos from Drama Club functions than from anything else.

I miss:
– Being Queen of the Universe (i.e. Stage Manager)
– Having too many silly inside jokes
– Knoffsinger busting our balls
– Everyone running around backstage without pants
– The electric feeling right before opening
– The relieved, yet sad, feeling of strike
– Kick-ass cast parties at The House On The Hill
– The Sexy Brigade

One Response to “and thereby hangs a tale”

  1. acaben September 25, 2006 at 22:57 #

    Dear Britt,I think I do it because it’s easier (and funnier) to be angry at someone/something (particularly a blob of people who share a certain trait or a large multinational) in a very formal way. And just think how awful it would be if I had to bottle up that anger instead of sharing it with the world. I’d be like a ticking time bomb. Or a cliché. One of the two.Although at the moment, I’m doing it simply for the literary effect of responding to your question in a method which your question questioned, not out of anger. I’d also like to see how many times I can use the word question in a sentence.I found a CTY yearbook last night and have been nostalgic about that all day, but I think both of us are way too young to be thinking of them as “the good ol’ days.”Love,BenPS — Thanks for reading my blog. It’s comforting to know someone does.

Leave a Reply

