3 things that scare the crap out of me

28 Jan

  1. Five Guilford College football players are being charged with assault and ethnic intimidation after hurling racial slurs and beating three Palestinian students on Thursday night. One witness called the attack,”brutal, beyond anything I could describe.” This happened at a Quaker founded school (just about a half an hour from where I live) that prides itself on promoting tolerance and nonviolence.
  2. A $25 million Creation Museum is being built a few miles from Cincinnati. Featuring a 40-foot recreation of Noah’s Ark and the Garden of Eden (replete with Adam, Eve, and dinosaurs) has been built to try and discredit the theory of evolution. The museum explains that while dinosaurs and humans co-existed the humans weren’t preyed upon because, before the fall, all dinosaurs were plant-eaters. John Morris, president of the Institute for Creation Research in San Diego, commented, “Americans just aren’t gullible enough to believe that they came from a fish.”
  3. The U.S. military unveiled it’s newest weapon: a heat-ray gun. Called the Active Denial System, it emits a high energy beam that causes people to feel as if they are going to catch fire. The weapon penetrates the skin to cause an uncomfortable burning sensation but causes no lasting harm. They hope to use the new technology for controlling angry mobs in Iraq. One NPR commentater remarked, “They’re fighting a war in a desert and they invent a heat ray? That’s like using a squirt gun while you’re in the swimming pool.”

PS – The internet at my house is down right now, so that’s why I’ve been so scarce.

4 Responses to “3 things that scare the crap out of me”

  1. Ben January 28, 2007 at 22:43 #

    I’ve been pondering a trip to visit the creation museum. It could be….entertaining. Wanna’ come? I’ve got family we could stay with in the area.

  2. Elisha Marshall January 30, 2007 at 06:54 #

    I’d have to say “agreed” on all three counts. I feel as if the military has too much free time and way too much money.

  3. Rob January 30, 2007 at 16:15 #

    I have to admit I’m sort of for the heat gun. It seems ridiculous, but I’m all for getting people to run away instead of killing them. I read an article about that heat gun last year sometime and it sounded pretty compelling.

  4. Robert January 31, 2007 at 14:43 #

    Am I the only person who thinks that a crazy creation museum is probably the least harmful use of $25 million in crackpot money? At least they aren’t buying guns or bribing politicians.I mean, I was pretty naive as an eight year old, but I think that I would have taken a skeptical view of an establishment whose operating premise is that SCIENTISTS HAVE BEEN PUNK’D BY GOD.”Fake fossils dude! Psych!”

Leave a Reply

