le cinema

2 Mar

Since I’m on a five-day weekend at the moment I’ve had time to catch up on my movie viewing.

  • Children of Men: This is my type of movie – a dark tale of an ominous future with a bit of redemption at the end. It’s shows the year 2027 as gritty and full of dissent which all began when women lost the ability to conceive. It has a good story and gorgeous cinematography. And, my boyfriend is in it. If you liked Gattaca or V for Vendetta I would recommend this film.
  • Pan’s Labyrinth: I was a bit let down by this one. It’s not that it wasn’t a good movie, because it was. I was surprised to find that most of the action happened in The Real World instead of in The Fantasy, CG-Created World. It was still a satisfying fairytale and was also beautifully shot. But, I would have to agree with what Michael said; there’s too much going on for del Torro to spend enough time on either of the story lines.
  • Jesus Camp: I thought this film was very evenhanded. Even though I don’t agree with prayer in schools, creationism, or creating “God’s Army” out of our children, the film still allowed me to see things from the Evangelical point of view. A fact I learned is that 25% of Americans describe themselves as Evangelical Christians. So I recommend you watch this film, if not for entertainment’s sake then just to better understand a quarter of the US population.
One Response to “le cinema”

  1. Greg March 7, 2007 at 09:35 #

    I thought the same thing about Pan’s Labyrinth.

Leave a Reply

