wanting memories

29 Mar

I found out yesterday that my friend’s husband was killed in Baghdad on Tuesday. They hadn’t even been married a year and they have a six-month-old daughter.

Last month another friend’s nephew was critically injured in Iraq. He’s still alive, but only just. His wife is pregnant.

I’m not going to go into a long soliloquy about the Iraq war right now. All of you probably know my hippy, liberal views by now.

But, enough is enough.

One Response to “wanting memories”

  1. dale March 31, 2007 at 09:15 #

    I don’t think one has to be liberal to be against war. I feel a wave of depression every time I hear about another young person losing his life in a war zone. FYI, the term hippie (or hippy) was derived from the practice of some of injecting heroin into their hip to hide the needle marks.

Leave a Reply

