detox: phase one

9 Apr

Spring is here; everything is blooming.

That means my allergies are back, with a vengence. So this year I’m going to do an experiment. I’ve decided I’m going to try the ayurvedic (holistic) approach to decongesting.

As of now I am officially on a two-week detoxifying diet. That means I can’t eat anything that contains:
– Wheat
– Sugar
– Gluten
– Caffeine
– Yeast
– Alcohol
– Meat
– Eggs
– Dairy (except lassi or goat’s milk)
– Preservatives
– Chocolate
– Anything high in fat

I’ve already cut some of these things out of my diet, so it shouldn’t be too terribly difficult. I will have a problem with no cheese or milk or yogurt. And I am most definitely going to go into sugar withdrawl. So be warned, you may have to listen to me bitch.

After those two weeks I will attempt to follow a diet for a kapha dosha. Luckily the diet for detox is much the same, but I’ll be able to add a few things back in, like eggs and gluten. And after the two-week detox period I will allow myself the occasional indulgence. But I want to try to stick to the experiment for at least three months to see if it really does help improve my allergy symptoms (along with yoga and herbal supplements).

Wish me luck. I’m going to need it.

3 Responses to “detox: phase one”

  1. Robert April 9, 2007 at 20:27 #

    No meat, no eggs, no fat and no dairy… are you making sure to get enough protein? While I’m sure that cosmic energy, ancient ghosts and a feather lashed to a chicken bone are important factors in regulating your histamine response, your body may have other needs.

  2. Shrig April 9, 2007 at 20:34 #

    I agree that it does seem a little extreme, but I’ll defend your right to do it.Good Luck! :) If you need to bitch, I’m here to listen.

  3. Rob April 10, 2007 at 13:20 #

    I have pretty bad allergies in the fall and spring and I’ve found that riding my bike to work somehow alleviates them – when I drive its so much worse than when I ride, even on the days where the streets are yellow with pollen. Now if I can just make myself get out of bed early enough to ride regularly…Good luck with the diet! Hummus and Falafel for everyone! Opah!

Leave a Reply

