me + commitment = interesting experiment

19 Aug

As you may already know, I’m a Buddhist.

Or at least, that’s the closest approximation that I can think of. It’s sticky using the label “Buddhist.” It’s much more ambiguous than “Christian” or “Jewish.” But, that’s a discussion for another time.

I am taking on a personal challenge.

Meditate (for at least 15 minutes, but preferably 30) every day for a year.

Reasons:

1) I’ve been tinkering around with Buddhism for almost a year now and I think it’s time I got more serious. Shit or get off the pot, so to speak.

2) As you also probably know, I have an immense fear of commitment. I have a theory as to why, but I won’t go into that just now. Anyway, it will be good for me to invest myself in something for an extended period of time.

3) I need a challenge.

4) I’ll learn more about me.

You may doubt that I have the fortitude to do something, anything, every day for a year. Believe me, I have doubts too. But the act of just making the effort is an accomplishment in itself. And, it will give me something to blog about since I will be commenting here on my frustrations, insights, road blocks, etc (in addition to the random crap I usually write about).

Okay, as soon as I click the publish button on this post it’s a contract with myself.

Ready…..set……go.

3 Responses to “me + commitment = interesting experiment”

  1. Elisha Marshall August 20, 2007 at 09:50 #

    I think this is a really great idea. Then again, I love personal experiments. How was day one?

  2. Shrig August 21, 2007 at 22:57 #

    Try taking it one week at a time… a year might seem to “BIG” to take on.Good luck!

  3. Julia Buckley September 25, 2007 at 08:04 #

    Sounds like a challenge worth rising to – I’m sure you’ll stick with it. And if you do miss a day, there’s always tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

