what would buddha do?

1 Dec

Be a lamp unto yourself. Work out your liberation with diligence.

This is one of my favorite quotes, from the Dhammapada I believe. I’ve even considered getting it as my next tattoo.

I’ve been really down lately and I was talking to a friend last night. He told me, “Fuck them! You’re fucking awesome – you know that, right?” I appreciate his colorful language, but I also appreciate the sentiment. I forget, especially during a depression, that I am my own greatest advocate. I don’t need other people to like me in order to have self-worth.

My therapist has also been helping me a lot. I know it sounds like a bunch of new-agey shit, but it really does make a difference when you don’t care what other people think about you. People always tell you to “just be yourself.” I don’t very often because I’m afraid of what people will think….I think most of us are like that. And I have a real problem telling people how I really feel.

Not anymore. This is my promise to myself.

I don’t care if my Professor likes me, I’ll get accepted to the program because I’m qualified for it. I don’t care if the people at work like me, I am just being who I am and doing my job. I don’t care if men don’t want to date me, at least I’m not pretending to be something I’m not.

We are not what we think. All that we are arises with our thoughts. With our thoughts, we make our world.

2 Responses to “what would buddha do?”

  1. The weird Girl next Door! December 1, 2009 at 14:50 #

    Helllllsssss YEAH!I think you are pretty awesome!

  2. Dan December 4, 2009 at 13:27 #

    Your friend sounds fucking awesome.

Leave a Reply

