night moves

3 Jan

I was hanging out in my room last night when I saw something out of the corner of my eye.  An owl, I think a Barred Owl (Strix varia), landed on my windowsill.  He sort of had his back to me and I froze so as not to startle him.  I tried to slowly move my hand toward my cell phone so I could tell my mom.  But, he only hung out for about 20 seconds, then dropped off downwards from the sill.  I ran to the window and opened it to see if I could catch a glimpse of the owl going after his prey, but no such luck.  Then, I rushed down to the front porch, but alas, he was gone.

I wanted to open the window and let him in.  Like in Harry Potter.

Cause that’s totally what would have happened.

Had I opened the window.

Leave a Reply

