p.s. i love you

14 Feb

Come live in my heart and pay no rent.

~Samuel Lover

Valentine’s Day is a cliché, but so is hating Valentine’s Day.  I am guilty of the latter.  Even as an elementary school kid it caused me anxiety.  Although, I do like those little messenger heart candies.

I won’t go on about all of the obvious reasons why people dislike Valentine’s Day.  You’ve heard them before.  I’m a romantic;  I really am.  But this holiday just reminds me of my inadequacies.  Always has, and I don’t need any help in that department.

In Buddhism there’s the concept of loving-kindness, or mettā.  It’s sort of a universal love.  A compassion and love, without attachment or condition, for all people and all beings.  It’s easy to love someone we “fall in love” with.  It’s much harder to have love for everybody, nigh impossible perhaps.  But, I think it would benefit us all to cultivate this kind of love a little more.  We need a little more universal love, not just love for “our own.”  We need Mettā Day.

This is my simple religion. There is no need for temples..  no need for complicated philosophy.  Our own brain, our own heart is our temple; the philosophy is kindness.

~His Holiness, the 14th Dalai Lama

Leave a Reply

