i love the smell of sawdust in the morning

22 Mar

I built a bat house yesterday.   We have a lot of bats around, including one that likes to roost inside the ceiling of the sun room.   I looked up a couple of plans online, but then I just kind of winged it.  I just made sure it was the proper depth.  I used some rough oak boards we had taken out of the second story of the house, so I didn’t have to do anything to make the interior surface grippy.

Then I caulked it and painted it for waterproofing.  Painting it a dark color is best in northern climates to absorb heat from the sun.  The bats like it nice and hot.  I spiffed it up by making a stencil of a flying bat.

I’m so handy.  This week’s goal is to build my bee hive.  If all goes according to plan I’ll be getting honey bees in the mail in about a month.  Exciting!

2 Responses to “i love the smell of sawdust in the morning”

  1. Mindy Cressley March 23, 2010 at 08:33 #

    do bats eat ticks? Maybe i should pay you to build me a bat house so they can eat all my ticks…they are everywhere right now!!!

  2. Mindy Cressley March 23, 2010 at 08:33 #

    Nice bat house by the way!

Leave a Reply

