speak up

24 Oct

I am proud to say that I will be participating in Autistics Speaking Day.  It is being organized by Kathryn Bjørnstad over on the Facebook.  It’s an event created in response to Communication Shutdown, which is an autism fundraiser based in Australia.

Those participating in the “Communication Shutdown” will not use social networking websites on November 1 and will download an app to those websites that promotes autism awareness.  Apparently, not using Facebook or Twitter for a day is supposed to show you what it’s like to be autistic, since autistic people have trouble communicating.  Don’t get me wrong, I support raising awareness and money for autism research.  Their hearts are in the right place.  But not using FB for a day so you can see what it’s like to be autistic?  Poppycock.

Autistic people are not silent.  My compatriots and I believe the day would be better used as a time for people with autism to speak up.  We will all be posting to our blogs on November 1 to raise awareness and maybe give people a better idea of what it’s like to live with autism.  So, I hope you’ll check it out!

3 Responses to “speak up”

  1. Marianne October 30, 2010 at 13:35 #

    Hi,
    I’m Marianne and I’m part of the Communication Shutdown Team. I just wanted to let you know that we fully support Autistics Speaking Day and would love to share your experiences with our supporters. Although our executions are paradoxical, I believe we have the same goal to encourage understanding and acceptance in the wider community. We would really like to give your voice more reach, while at the same time giving our supporters a deeper understanding of autism.

    We will keep an eye on your blog and with your permission, we hope to share any of your positive experiences or challenges with our supporters when they get back on November 2. As well, please feel free to email me at marianne.harvey@communicationshutdown.org

    Many thanks and hope you have a great day.

  2. Liz Ditz October 30, 2010 at 15:31 #

    As I often do, I’m compiling a list of people — this time, people participating in “Autistics Speaking Up” and “Autism Shout Out”. I’ve added you to the list.

    http://lizditz.typepad.com/i_speak_of_dreams/2010/10/why-i-wont-be-shutting-down-on-november-1.html

Leave a Reply

