what it takes

22 Aug

So I saw my therapist today for the first time since the breakup. He was on vacation last week. He thinks that I am dealing with everything very well. That’s what I thought too, but it’s nice to have the reassurance of a professional.

The funny thing is that when I finally made the decision to start going to a therapist it wasn’t when I was really depressed or felt desperate.  It was when I was well enough to want to work on myself and become a better, happier person. I was lucky enough to have found a therapist that I really work well with, and who was willing to give me a discounted rate. I’ve been going there for two years now and I’ve made a lot of progress. Some of it may be due to maturity or perspective, but I definitely think my therapist has really helped me as well. I believe people can change if they want to and they work at it. I know they can, because I’m living proof. I never thought I’d be able to handle this situation as well as I have.

I’m proud of myself.

One Response to “what it takes”

  1. Bev Leroux August 22, 2011 at 23:58 #

    Wonderful to hear. Seeing a therapist is first a commitment made with oneself to do the work and it has to be followed through. When you have an excellent therapist as well, that’s the ideal combination.

Leave a Reply

