aspie self-esteem

4 Sep

I’ve decided on the topic for my master’s research. I want to see if there’s a difference in self-esteem or positive self-regard between teenagers with high functioning autism or Asperger syndrome and their peers.

I’m not sure what my hypothesis is yet though, because there are two conceivable possibilities. The teens with autism have higher self-esteem because they care less about what others think of them and/or they are oblivious to it.  Or, it could be more likely that they have lower self-esteem because they are aware enough to know that they are different and make mistakes in social situations. I don’t know which of these is more likely. When I was a teen with Asperger syndrome I know I had low self-esteem, but that was just me. And then, of course, there’s the possibility that they have the same average level of self-esteem as other teenagers.  After all, being a teenager kind of sucks for everyone.

Anyway, it’s a relief to have a topic. Now I have to work on the specific problem question and then decide what kind of evaluation I will use to measure self-esteem. It should be interesting to see what kind of results I get.

2 Responses to “aspie self-esteem”

  1. myblissdesigning September 4, 2011 at 14:27 #

    Congratulations! Superb topic for your master’s research. Will no doubt be a powerful journey of discovery.

  2. elite March 12, 2013 at 10:01 #

    I like this web blog it’s a master piece

Leave a Reply

