you know what?

9 Sep

I’m angry.

I have to do a project for a class this semester where I have to find a kid with a minor behavioral problem and do an intervention. We have to do a couple of interviews and some data collection throughout the semester.  The professor gave us the first two and a half weeks of class to find someone to work with and do the first interview.  I have six days left and I haven’t gotten anybody yet. I feel like I have asked everybody that I know. There isn’t anybody left.

I’m a good student.  I have a 4.0 GPA for my master’s degree so far. I feel like I’m being penalized because I don’t know very many people and I don’t think that’s fair. I really don’t know what to do.

Not to mention, I haven’t learned anything from this program so far and I already know how to do an intervention because it’s my job. I do it every day.  I don’t need to be doing this stupid project in the first place.

 

Add to that three days of insomnia and a soul-crushing feeling of loneliness and it’s a recipe for disaster.

 

It’s okay.

Bursting into tears while driving the car is perfectly normal.

Right?

3 Responses to “you know what?”

  1. investigator25 September 10, 2011 at 07:38 #

    Someone said once, there are ? number of maladjusted people in every circle of friends, and if all the others are “normal” then the maladjusted could be you….perhaps you should look inward.

    Good luck and success….

  2. Bruce (born 2b me) September 14, 2011 at 20:08 #

    “Bursting into tears while driving is perfectly normal. Right?”

    Yes, I would think it is for anyone who is experiencing what you are going through at this time. Looking back at my own life, I do believe the insomnia and soul-crushing feeling of loneliness will indeed pass, although I know that is awfully hard to believe right now. The pain will ease eventually, and I am convinced that you will find another with whom to share your life, although I recognize that may not be much comfort at the moment, while the breakup is so fresh.

    Just a thought – could you do your “intervention” with one of your clients at work??

    Take care, and be kind to yourself!

    • blackbird3398 September 14, 2011 at 21:06 #

      Bruce,

      Thank you for your kind words. They do make me feel better.

      ~B

Leave a Reply

