nipping at my heels

11 Sep

Okay, so I guess posting everyday didn’t work out. I feel like I would just end up making crap posts to fill in space, and that’s not entertaining. Plus, I’ve been too worried about school this week to make sure I posted every day.

As I predicted, failure on the NaBloPoMo thing.

Also, I’m having some issues with my meditation practice as well. I’ve been keeping up with it and doing it almost every day. But the last couple of days have been brutal. I can’t concentrate on my meditation at all. I end up just sitting there thinking about all the crap I’d been thinking about all day long.

I think I’m going to write this off to “last week sucked” and try to start fresh today.

4 Responses to “nipping at my heels”

  1. Bruce (born 2b me) September 14, 2011 at 20:40 #

    Starting fresh sounds lovely. I’ll try to remember to give myself that permission when things go sour in my life.

    One neat thing about sitting in meditation is that even when we can’t concentrate, we learn something, even if it is simply how our mind is such a chatter box at times! So no session is a failure. Sometimes when my mind is too thought-loopy, it helps to just get up and move (burn up some adrenalin), and then try sitting again later. I find it good to shorten the allotted time to sit, but to actually sit for the whole allotted time just so my mind doesn’t think it can run the show. Sort of like training a dog I guess :)

    Don’t worry about the NaBloPoMo thing. You’ve got a lot on your mind, and besides, we can always learn from our “failures” so they are really only lessons in disguise, right?

    I’m glad you are posting again. I have been stuck for words over the summer and hope to get going again soon. Your thought of “starting fresh” is giving me some hope and encouragement to get blogging again. So, Thanks!

    • blackbird3398 September 14, 2011 at 21:09 #

      Bruce,

      I tend to be the type to make myself stay on the cushion for the allotted amount of time, so I can’t “cheat.” Otherwise, my mind will be running the show!

      I look forward to reading your posts when you start up again!

      • Bruce (born 2b me) September 14, 2011 at 21:33 #

        Thanks Blackbird, I’ve got one brewing right now!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Starting Fresh! « Born 2b me - September 14, 2011

    […] feeling rather guilty for not commenting on my bloggy friends posts. I have just come from reading Blackbird’s latest post in which she said she would “…try to start fresh today.” Her phrase somehow gave […]

Leave a Reply

