g’day

15 Sep

It’s was cold and rainy again today. I’m beginning to feel like I live in Seattle, minus the west coast flavor and the proximity to the ocean. In other words, there are no endearing qualities involved.

Anyway, I spent the day doing homework very slowly, drinking tea, and watching McLeod’s Daughters on Netflix. It’s a guilty pleasure. It was a popular Australian TV show about two sisters who are reunited after they inherit the family ranch, Drover’s Run. It’s got the whole strong-women-riding-horses-and-getting-into-vaguely-comical-situations thing going for it. It gets more soap opera-like as the seasons go on, but I’m only on season three so I can’t really speak to that. I like the sweeping landscapes and the country storylines.  It makes me wistfully dream of moving to the outback, working on a cattle station, and riding off into the sunset wearing a B.C. Stockman.

Sigh.

 

3 Responses to “g’day”

  1. Bruce (born 2b me) September 21, 2011 at 21:58 #

    Ah, that sounds like a lovely escape. I often escape to Port Wenn, the fictional home of Doc Martin. The series is filmed in the seaside village of Port Isaac, Cornwall, UK. The Doc (portrayed by Martin Clunes) comes across as quite probably Aspie, and so I can relate to some of his quirks. I can’t fully identify with him due to some significant differences, but screenwriters and directors often exaggerate

    • blackbird3398 September 23, 2011 at 00:02 #

      Bruce,

      I watch Doc Martin, actually. I’m assuming you live in the UK? If you do I’m jealous.

      • Bruce (born 2b me) September 23, 2011 at 16:36 #

        Nice to meet another Doc Martin fan, blackbird!

        I do my escaping to Port Wenn through my DVD collection. I actually live in Canada. I would love to visit the Cornwall coast in person, and so I go there often through viewing it on my TV.

        I have the complete four season collection of Doc Martin DVD’s. By the time I get to the end of season four I am ready to start again with episode one of season one. I have probably seen them all about five times. It helps to have memory problems because that way I am never bored with the repeats. I guess you could say it is an obsession, but I prefer to think of it as a Special Interest! :)

        Apparently season five is airing now on ITV in the UK. I’m hoping the DVD’s will be available by spring 2012.

Leave a Reply

