mother earth news fair

27 Sep
Me with sheep

Me with sheep

I spent the weekend with my parents at the Mother Earth News Fair at the Seven Springs Resort in northwestern Pennsylvania. It was great! There were vendors and workshops related to anything a do-it-yourself homesteader could want to know about: keeping bees, spinning yarn, electric fencing, low-impact and organic ways to farm or garden, how to use herbs, butchering your own meat, soap making, composting, preserving food, and how to be an overall responsible consumer. I got some tips from one of the beekeeping presenters, so hopefully we’ll have a successful hive when I try it again this spring.  I also got to see a lot of really cute animals. I wanted to smuggle one of the alpacas home with me. I think I do finally have mom convinced that we should get some angora goats for fiber. She saw how much the handspun yarn was going for.

I heard many wonderful speakers, including Joel Salatin and Ed Begley, Jr. They inspired me to do more to become environmentally aware. I teared up at several points (not that it takes much to elicit that response these days).  It was also great to be around thousands of like-minded people who place a high value on quality food, low carbon footprint, and the satisfaction you can get from being able to make your own food, clothing, etc. If you are interested in any of these things I highly recommend Mother Earth News magazine. It’s a wealth of information.

Here a some more selected photos from the fair:

At a workshop about going packing with your llama

A llama all packed up

A llama all packed up

How to spin with a drop spindle

How to spin with a spinning wheel

Ed Begley, Jr. giving his keynote address

The fair grounds

In the ski lodge

Right before Bill gave me the finger for taking his picture

Alpacas!

My spoils

6 Responses to “mother earth news fair”

  1. Keri September 27, 2011 at 22:17 #

    I love the alpacas. They’re so cute and it looks like you had a lot of fun.

  2. Bruce (born 2b me) September 29, 2011 at 16:09 #

    Hello blackbird,
    These are really beautiful photos. I’d love a pet alpaca or llama!
    And the spinner’s homemade sweater is looks fabulous.
    The fair was a great way to spend the day.
    Mother Earth News, and a Canadian magazine, “Harrowsmith,” along with “Organic Gardening and Farming,” and of course “The Whole Earth Catalog,” influenced me and many others during the “back to the land” era of the late sixties and early seventies. (I built a house in the country).

    • blackbird3398 September 29, 2011 at 19:36 #

      Bruce,

      You should put some pics up on your blog of your house in the country. I hope to build a house in the country some day, but right now I have to settle for living in my parents’ house in the country!

  3. Dan September 30, 2011 at 21:08 #

    I like your blog. It makes me smile. And this post in particular made me want to go all hippie.

    • blackbird3398 October 1, 2011 at 09:48 #

      Dan,

      Forgive me wrong, but aren’t you halfway there already? :-)

Leave a Reply

