writing sucks

30 Sep

I am not good at writing. Sure, I write a blog. But all you have to do for that is spew whatever you’re thinking onto the internet. I do not write well when it comes to assignments that require a minimum number of pages. I am not good at filling in pages with unneccessary information that is still somehow related to the topic at hand.

I say what is absolutely needed to get my point across and that’s it. That does not make for a long paper.

So yeah, school is stressing me out right now and I’m just procrastinating as long as possible.

 

Unrelatedly, I bought these sheets.

Yeah, they look pretty cool.  They’ve got that neat pleated border. Well, I found out that in order for them to continue having that neat pleated border I have to iron them every time they’re washed. Laziness fail.

6 Responses to “writing sucks”

  1. 1 Story A Week September 30, 2011 at 14:18 #

    Those sheets are awesome.

    • blackbird3398 September 30, 2011 at 20:41 #

      Thanks! They’re just awesome enough for me to drag the iron out every time I wash them…..just.

  2. Bev Leroux September 30, 2011 at 14:24 #

    I had a similar experience with fancy sheets. And I don’t iron either. Gave it up about 15 years ago. The only time the iron ever comes out now is when I need to block a knitted garment that requires it.

    In school, I counted on an ability with storytelling to ‘pad’ my exams and squeeze out extra marks.

    I’m procrastinating at the moment re cleaning my vehicle, inside and out. But I just found an amazing Aspie writer who has blown me away. Have only scanned some of his pieces but what I’ve seen so far is nothing short of brilliant!

    Will share his links with you when I send you those hat patterns. No, I haven’t forgotten. Just procrastinating because I have a gazillion patterns to choose from!

    • blackbird3398 September 30, 2011 at 20:39 #

      Bev,

      No problem! I know how it is with procrastination. I just finished the draft of the paper I had to turn in today. It’s not pretty, but at least it’s just a draft.

  3. Bruce (born 2b me) October 1, 2011 at 19:51 #

    Hi blackbird,

    If I may beg to differ a wee bit, I think your writing is super!

    Spewing whatever we are thinking is a talent in itself, is it not? I know I am often plagued by my internal censor who wants me to reconsider and revise and polish, and to examine every possible impact this may have on my reader’s emotional health, and whether they will still like me. So I am trying to learn to spew more!

    I was such a procrastinator at school. I would do nothing, and then stay up all night before a term paper was due and write through the night. Fortunately for me, my girlfriend would kindly stay up all night to type my pages as I wrote them. Without her, I doubt I would have graduated!

    • blackbird3398 October 1, 2011 at 22:41 #

      Bruce,

      Thanks for the compliment! And thanks for reading my blog!

Leave a Reply

