fubar

29 Jan

With the start of the new semester I have found that there are several things of importance that nobody ever bothered to tell me.

Apparently we’re just supposed to do our research on our own. Yeah. They aren’t really giving us any guidance or letting us know what is expected of us. I talked to my advisor for the first time this week because I don’t know what the hell is going on. Apparently he was supposed to approve my research topic like a year ago. Nobody told me that either.

Also, there’s this comprehensive exam that we have to pass in order to graduate. I didn’t know about that until last semester. It’s supposed to cover six of the classes we’ve had. I don’t have those textbooks anymore. And nobody has told us when this mysterious exam is to occur.

It’ll be a miracle if I actually complete all of the crap that I need to graduate because no one is telling what I need to know.

I’m really, really upset about this.

I’m paying a lot of money to these people. At the very least they could give me the information I need to do my work.

3 Responses to “fubar”

  1. Bruce (born 2b me) January 29, 2012 at 13:17 #

    Hi Britt,
    Gosh, what a rough situation to be in!
    Amanda did a video on campus Disability Services. It seems like it is left up to the student to advocate for themselves on her campus, unfortunately. There is a transcript of the video (and an embedded video) on her blog:

    http://adeepercountry.blogspot.com/2011/03/disability-services-are-not-accessible.html

    Perhaps your diagnosis is recent enough to qualify you for retroactive disability accommodations?? Perhaps that could lead to an extension for your research and your comprehensives.
    The textbooks may be in the library, or your profs may lend you their copies (teacher editions have extra notes… hehe!).
    I hope it all works out alright in the long run.
    Take care. Keep happy!
    Bruce

    • blackbird3398 January 29, 2012 at 18:36 #

      Bruce,

      Thanks for the suggestions. I’ll get it all done somehow. It’s not really a matter of me needing accommodations. I just need to know what I’m supposed to do, like anybody would need.

      I’m just irritated at how unorganized Edinboro has been the entire time I’ve been doing my degree. It’s always something!

      • Bruce (born 2b me) January 30, 2012 at 11:39 #

        Hi Britt,
        Thank you for your kind reply to my off-target comment. This is one of those instances when, shortly after hitting the “Post Comment” button, I said, “OMG! I blew it!”
        What happened was 1) your post sparked memories of many times, over the decades, when I was out of the loop, on the fringes, odd man out, etc., and 2) I had just recently re-watched and reread Amanda’s piece on Disability Services, and 3) I went to a university that is known for its efficiency and organization, and so I assume that is the norm. So I put those together in my mind, and read into your post what wasn’t really there, and I responded to that rather than to your actual post. Of course, on rereading your post, I “get it.” A bit late though. Sorry about that.
        Bruce

Leave a Reply

