shit people say to aspies

22 Feb

I know a lot of people are kind of over the whole “shit people say” meme. But this is the first one about autistics that I have seen and think this video is great. I’ve heard a lot of these comments myself.

Most of the input I get is of the “but you don’t look autistic” variety. A lot of people are well-meaning. Most of the time I don’t get offended because it is due to ignorance and not malice. But when people question whether I’m autistic because I seem “normal” to them it really gets under my skin.

As Wil Wheaton would say, don’t be a jerk!

2 Responses to “shit people say to aspies”

  1. Bev Leroux February 23, 2012 at 16:38 #

    Love it. Thanks for posting!

  2. Ehsan March 30, 2012 at 11:49 #

    Peoples might be confused when they interact with you. They like to know what is the best way to keep you comfortable during the conversation. I think the only way that they have is asking you about it. They use some meaningless or annoying sentences as ice breaker. They need you explain more about yourself. …………

Leave a Reply

